July 19 2019

The AWS re:Inforce conference, key takeaways

Security

Security tip

Never incorporate personal information:

- date of birth,
- social insurance number
- first name of your children,

and your passwords and usernames.

The first AWS Conference dedicated to cloud security

The first Amazon Web Services (AWS) security event, AWS re:Inforce, was held in Boston on June 25–26, 2019. Fortica, a cloud security specialist in Quebec and partner of Hitachi Systems Security, was among the 5,000 cloud security experts who attended this major conference. These two days were an opportunity to discuss the challenges of cloud security far beyond contexts specific to AWS.

Here is a three-point summary that will make you feel as if you were there:

 

 

  1. AWS can meet stringent security requirements.

The possibilities for complying and aligning with the most demanding security practices in the AWS Public Cloud were broadly highlighted. A number of major players in the financial industry in North America, including CapitalOne, presented their approach.
AWS offers a secure default configuration with a large number of security services to respond to many different needs and scenarios.

 

  1. Standardize safety rules and give teams autonomy.

Standardizing security policies by putting in place guardrails was a major topic discussed during the sessions and sponsor demonstrations. It is a matter of defining secure boundaries—based on the context—within which development teams can be autonomous. Ideally, security policies can be reused through labels (for example, a developer will be able to change the roles of their hosted application in an environment labelled “Test” but not in one labelled “Production”).
AWS CISO Steve Schmidt announced the launch of Control Tower, a service that enables applying uniform cloud security and compliance policies across multiple accounts within a single organization.

 

  1. Proactively assess and correct your security posture.

Visibility in the cloud and assessing the security posture of the cloud were other major discussion topics. They were also widely represented among the sponsors gathered at the Security Hub. Multicloud information systems, the autonomy of DevOps teams, and the ease of deploying resources in the cloud make configuration issues and vulnerabilities that expose data inevitable.
There are solutions to detect anomalies as soon as possible, even before resources forecasting, by analyzing CloudFormation templates, which allows triggering alerts or automatically correcting configuration deviations. AWS natively offers equivalent solutions that are effective in meeting basic needs limited to AWS. In a more complex, demanding, or multicloud environment, a CSPM (Cloud Security Posture Management) solution is crucial.

 

This first AWS cloud security event delivered on all its promises by highlighting emerging security practices and innovative solutions. The AWS re:Inforce conference has become a can’t-miss event for all cloud security experts. The next conference has already been announced. It will take place in Houston in 2020.

In the meantime, Fortica will be staying up to date on innovations and trends in cloud security and adapting its practices to benefit its customers. If you have questions about your cloud’s security, whether for an audit or support in deployment, Fortica has the expertise and services to meet your needs.

See Fortica’s services.

The Fortica team

Building your future at Fortica

We’re waiting for you on our team

We don’t work at Fortica. We innovate, collaborate, and exceed our customers’ expectations daily. Are you ready to commit?
Our job opportunities
© Fortica cybersécurité - All Rights Reserved 2021 | Website design made by TactikMedia
envelopephone-handsetcalendar-fullcrossmenuarrow-leftcross-circle

Conférence AWS Re:Inforce, ce qu'il faut en retenir...

Conférence AWS Re:Inforce, ce qu'il faut en retenir...

La première conférence AWS dédiée à la sécurité du cloud

Le premier évènement Amazon Web Services (AWS) dédié à la sécurité, AWS Re:Inforce, s’est tenu à Boston les 25 et 26 Juin 2019. Fortica, spécialiste de sécurité du cloud au Québec et partenaire d’Hitachi Systems Security, était parmi les 5000 experts en sécurité du cloud qui sont venus assistés à cette importante conférence. Ces deux jours ont été l’occasion d’échanger sur les enjeux de la sécurité du cloud, bien au-delà des contextes spécifiques à AWS.

Voici un résumé en 3 points, comme si vous y étiez :

AWS Re:Inforce

 

1. AWS peut répondre à des exigences de sécurité strictes

Les possibilités de se conformer et de s’aligner sur les pratiques de sécurité les plus exigeantes dans le cloud public AWS ont été largement mises en avant. Plusieurs acteurs majeurs de l’industrie financière en Amérique du Nord, dont CapitalOne, ont exposé leur approche.
AWS propose une configuration sécurisée par défaut avec un grand nombre de services de sécurité pour répondre à une multitude de besoins et scenarios.

 

2. Standardiser les règles de sécurité et laisser de l’autonomie aux équipes

La standardisation des politiques de sécurité via la mise en place de garde-corps (ou ‘guardrails’) était un thème majeur qui fut autant abordé lors des sessions que lors des démonstrations des sponsors. Il s'agit de définir les limites sécuritaires, et propre au contexte, à l’intérieur desquelles les équipes de développement pourront être autonomes. Idéalement, les politiques de sécurité sont réutilisables grâce à l’utilisation de labels (par exemple, un développeur pourra modifier les rôles de son application hébergée dans un environnement libellé « Test » mais pas dans celui de « Production »).
Steve Schmidt, CISO d’AWS, a annoncé le lancement de Control Tower, un service qui permet d’appliquer des stratégies de sécurité et de conformité du cloud uniformes à travers plusieurs comptes appartenant à une même organisation.

 

3. Évaluer et corriger sa posture de sécurité de manière proactive

La visibilité dans le cloud et l’évaluation de la posture de sécurité du cloud étaient l’un des autres grands thèmes très présents dans les discussions mais aussi largement représentés chez les sponsors regroupés au Security Hub. Les systèmes d’information multi-cloud, l’autonomie des équipes DevOps, la simplicité de déploiement des ressources dans le cloud font que les problèmes de configuration et les vulnérabilités qui exposent des données sont inévitables.
Il existe des solutions pour détecter les anomalies au plus tôt, avant même la prévision des ressources par l’analyse des gabarits CloudFormation, permettant de lever des alertes ou corriger automatiquement les écarts de configurations. Les solutions équivalentes proposées nativement par AWS sont efficaces pour répondre à des besoins élémentaires et limités à AWS. Dans un environnement plus complexe, plus exigeant ou multi-cloud, une solution CSPM (Cloud Security Posture Management) sera incontournable.

 

Ce premier événement AWS dédié à la sécurité du cloud a tenu toutes ses promesses en mettant en avant les pratiques de sécurité émergentes et des solutions novatrices. La conférence AWS Re:Inforce devient un rendez-vous immanquable pour tous les experts de sécurité du cloud. La prochaine édition est déjà annoncée, elle aura lieu à Houston en 2020.

D’ici là, Fortica se tient à jour des innovations et des tendances en sécurité du cloud et adapte ses pratiques pour en faire bénéficier ses clients.  Si vous avez des questions sur la sécurité de votre cloud, que ce soit pour un audit ou un accompagnement dans le déploiement, Fortica possède l’expertise et les services pour répondre à vos besoins.

Voir les services de Fortica

L’équipe Fortica

Actualités

Fortica + Hitachi Systems Security | Roadshow sur la sécurité du Cloud dans les Caraïbes | Juin 2019

Actualités

Fortica réalise, en partenariat avec Hitachi Systems Security, un contrat Azure et Office365 pour une compagnie d’assurance dans les Caraïbes.

Actualités

Fortica réalise le plus gros contrat de cybersécurité Cloud au Gouvernement du Québec avec un déploiement hybride Azure et Azure Stack.